Install Files App | Assembly
Files App
Make it easy to securely share files and folders with clients.
Type
- App
- Apps are tailor-made for Assembly platform and typically come with rich functionality including notifications.
App Visibility
- Client
- Client-facing apps are visible to clients as well as your internal team.
Pricing
- Free
Built by
Overview
The Files App lets you and your clients securely share files, links, and folders with one another.
App library
Default files channel
If you have companies enabled you can select a default channel on the Settings > General page. The default channel works as follows:
| Companies enabled | Companies disabled |
|---|---|
| If the default channel is company-level, when a new client with a company is created then a company-level files channel is created. If in the future, other clients associated with the same company are created, they will be added to the existing company files channel. If the default channel is client-level, when a new client with a company is created then a client-level files channel is created. New clients, regardless of their associated company, can always have their own files channel. |
When a new client is created, a client-level files channel is always created. |
In App Library > Files > Edit, you can configure the following:
Always-on visibility
You can control whether clients always have a Files item on the sidebar that they can navigate to. Turn this off if you only want clients to see Files on their sidebar if 1 or more files have been made visible to the client.
Clients can add files
You can control if clients themselves can add files. Turn this off if you want clients to only be able to access files but not upload ones themselves.
Clients can delete files
You can control if clients can delete files. Turn this off if you want to prevent clients from deleting files.
Clients can update folders
You can control if clients can update the folder structure you have put in place. Turn this off if you want to "lock down your folder structure" and prevent clients from creating, uploading, renaming, moving, and deleting folders.
Folder Locking
If you do not want to globally control whether clients can add, delete, or reorganize files, you can lock individual folders instead. When a folder is locked, clients cannot add files, delete files, or modify the folder structure inside that folder.
Internal user experience
Key Workflows
There are two main workflows for internal users.
App view To see a list of all file channels sorted by recent activity, navigate to the Files App by clicking on Files in your sidebar. Here you'll see a files channel for every client, company, or group that you're sharing files with. From here, you can select a files channel to see the contained files and take actions like upload new files or create folders.
Client Details view To access a particular client's files channel you can click on a client on the Clients page and then navigate to the Files tab. This will only surface the files channel associated with that particular client.
Creating files channels
After you create a client, they will always get a new files channel or be assigned to an existing files channel which will be either client-level or company-level. In addition, there are group-level files channels. These are useful if you want to share files with multiple clients associated with a company, but not everyone assigned to the company.
How to create a channel:
- Click on the + on the files channels sidebar.
- Select one or more clients, or select a company. Note that you cannot create a file channel that already exists.
Email notifications
Clients will automatically receive email notifications if one or more files were uploaded by an internal user. From there, they can navigate to your portal to access the files.
Previewing files
Most file types can be previewed directly in the browser. You and your clients can double-click on a file to preview. See the FAQ below for a list of file types that support previews.