## Internal user notifications

How internal users receive notifications

### Overview

Configure your notifications to strike the right balance between being notified about important events and minimizing noise.

### Notification settings

Each internal user can configure their notifications on the _Settings > Notifications_ page. Specifically, you can:

- Configure if you want to enable or disable product notifications. We strongly recommend leaving this enabled.
- Configure if you want to receive email notifications with options _Always_, _Never_, and _When app is not active_. The last option is the default because it means you will not receive email notifications if you are active in the Assembly Dashboard.
- Assuming you've enabled both product and email notifications, in the table below you have fine-tuned control of how you want to receive each specific notification.

### Notification Center

The Notification Center is a centralized and customizable home for your product notifications. This is where all product notifications are surfaced with the exception of Messaging App notifications, which show directly in the app itself.

When you select a notification, the _Contextbar_ will open on the right, showing the relevant client or company context. From there you can view client details, leave internal notes, or chat with teammates — all without leaving the Notification Center.

#### Notifications

The following notifications can show in the notification center:

- New paid invoice
- New file upload
- New signed contract
- New form response
- New Tasks assignment
- Tasks marked as done
- New Tasks Comment

#### Quick actions

For each notification type, in the top-right we surface quick actions that are relevant to the notification. For instance, you can use quick actions to quickly download a signed contract or export a form submission.

#### Mark read vs delete

When you select a notification that automatically marks it as _read_. If you need to mark it _unread_ (maybe to remind yourself to come back to it), you can click on the _Actions_ button and select _Mark unread_.

Optionally, you can permanently delete notifications. If you prefer an "inbox-zero"-like experience where the notification center is empty after you have gone through it, you can make use of the _Delete notification_ action.

#### Power user tips

If you receive a large number of notifications, work more efficiently with these two tips:

- You can use bulk actions to delete or mark read a large number of notifications. Just click on the _Actions_ button to access them.
- Use keyboard shortcuts to navigate the notification center and to delete notifications. You can use _Command + [_ (Mac) or _Control + [_ (Windows) to navigate up, _Command + ]_ (Mac) or _Control + ]_ (Windows) to navigate down, and Del to delete the selected notification.
